In 2004 Mike Rae of Armstrong Waste Management suggested forming the organisation to allocate and distribute Landfill Community Funding (LCF) to local environmental and community based projects. SWEAT was formed when a number of business people were invited to become ‘Committee Members’.

The Trust operated within the guidelines of the Landfill Community Fund which was overseen by the governing body ENTRUST.

Since April 2016 SWEAT (Dumfries) has been operating within the guidelines of the Scottish Landfill Communities Fund (SLCF).The regulators of this fund are the Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA). SEPA are approved by Revenue Scotland under the Scottish Landfill Tax (Administration) Regulations 2015 (the regulations). The Trust now accepts applications for funding from organisations throughout Scotland.

To date SWEAT has allocated over £500,000 to projects in Dumfries and Galloway. Details of the projects that SWEAT have helped to fund are available on this site.

The SWEAT Committee consists of five Committee Members:

Lt. Col. John Charteris, MBE. MC., Chairman
Mike Rae, Treasurer
Christine Cameron, MA Hons. (Environmental Studies), MSc. Carbon Management,  Secretary
Janet Hunter
Jayne Moore

The Committee meet four times a year to discuss applications for funding, however the Committee is active processing applications throughout the year.